Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Steering Wheel & Radio Replacement Combo
Post Reply
Buddy Greenberg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 9:31 am

Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Buddy Greenberg »

Hi,

Wondering if the actual head units from Kenwood that are compatible with Maestro RR/RR2 have specific iDatalink Maestro software installed from factory or if they are just like any other head unit that is non-compatible?

Thanks!

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Dara DeGrand »

They have maestro specific coding included in the radio firmware, so they are a bit different than non-compatible radios.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Buddy Greenberg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 9:31 am

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Buddy Greenberg »

Thanks Dara! I wish there was an option to use the European version head unit DMX9720XDS of the US version DMX1037S together with the RR2. Extremely frustrating…

Chris LaRoche
Moderator
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Chris LaRoche »

Just one of those situations where things made in other markets aren't currently supported. Hard to say what tomorrow holds, but at this time, there's not a plan to expand into that market/with that radio. We understand the frustration, but at the same time don't want to put out a solution that isn't going to function to our standards either.

Thanks!
Chris LaRoche
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support - Maestro
MECP Master Installer

Buddy Greenberg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 9:31 am

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Buddy Greenberg »

Yes, it's me...the annoying Swede again. Hopefully this will be my last question regarding the RR2 x EU Head Unit issue.

Is it possible to use the RR2 with the European Kenwood DMX9720XDS and only regain the basic controls on the steering wheel, reverse camera and NOT all the other fantastic features of the RR2? Or won't that be possible either due to missing firmware and/or model and serial number of head unit that won't match?

"Get connected, or die trying'"

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Dara DeGrand »

It depends on what vehicle you have. We have more basic firmware for some cars, but some require iDatalink radios. What vehicle do you have?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Buddy Greenberg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 9:31 am

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Buddy Greenberg »

It's a 2016 Jeep JK (2DR) 75th Anniversary Edition. Today it has the UConnect 430N RHW.
Can add photos here if possible, but don't know how.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Dara DeGrand »

We do have basic firmware for the JK. You would just flash it as "Other with bluetooth"
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Buddy Greenberg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 9:31 am

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Buddy Greenberg »

That is great news! What controls exactly will I be able to access? For instance, will the fader function work? The Jeep has the factory Alpine Premium Soundsystem. I also have the CH1 harness.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Dara DeGrand »

It will give you steering control retention, outputs like illumination, reverse, and parking brake, and turn the amplifier on. Unfortunately, it cannot do fade in this firmware because it is digitally controlled (a compatible iDatalink radio is needed to retain that feature).
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Buddy Greenberg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 9:31 am

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Buddy Greenberg »

The same as the Pac Audio and ACV interfaces. Will be interesting to compare the performance of the RR2 woth those basic features. Thank you for your input and enlightenment on the subject matter.

Buddy Greenberg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 9:31 am

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Buddy Greenberg »

Hi, unfortunately the WeblinkMaestro app can’t be downloaded in the EU region. Is there any other way to flash the RR2 w/o using the app or bluetooth?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro compatible Kenwood units?

Post by Dara DeGrand »

If the app can't be downloaded in your region, Weblink Desktop is the only other way. https://www.weblinkupdater.com/weblinkdesktop/en
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “Maestro RR/RR2”