RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Group using the CH1, CH2 and CH3 firmwares for uConnect, steering wheel controls, OEM amplifier retention. compatible with select Mitsubishi and Volkswagen vehicles * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
bwalsh22
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by bwalsh22 » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:18 pm

Here is what I installed this weekend, per specifications.

Pioneer MVH-2300nex
Maestro RR
CH1 Harness + Antenna adapter
Polk 6501 components

Overall, everything is mostly working as expected. When the radio boots, controls all work as expected, volume, tunning, etc. BUT, once Android auto launches the steering wheel controls no longer work. I have to go back to the radio to get it to adjust volume or anything or use the buttons on the unit. Sort of defeats the purpose since 99% of the time I will use Android Auto.

Thoughts?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4935
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:22 pm

There is a light on the RR- when you're in carplay mode and you hit the steering wheel buttons, does the light blink like it sees you pressing a button?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

bwalsh22
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by bwalsh22 » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:37 pm

No idea, I would have to unhook everything to see. I know it was blinking when I used it in radio mode before I put everything back together...not sure why it would be causing me issues just cause Android Auto is running.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4935
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:41 pm

It could be a radio firmware bug- that's why i'm having you check the lights. If we're blinking when you're using AA, that means the radio is ignoring our commands, which would mean a radio problem. We just need to see what the RR shows, because that will tell us what's going on here.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

bwalsh22
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by bwalsh22 » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:48 pm

Thank you, I understand, just don't have the Jeep now, will look into and post back once I get to it later this week.

bwalsh22
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by bwalsh22 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:23 am

FYI...I did a maestro reset from the head unit and now the buttons are working both for the radio and when in android auto mode.

Thank you for the help!

bwalsh22
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by bwalsh22 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:52 pm

Nope, sorry afraid I jumped the gun. It does work after a Maestro reset, so that confirms the maestro is talking to the head unit. However...if I click any button on the headunit the steering wheel controls no longer work and I have to do a reset again. There will be times I need to click a button on the unit so this is no ideal. Any thoughts or guidelines?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4935
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:24 pm

It sounds like you have something plugged into the W/R on the back of the Pioneer. Whatever you have in there, unplug it. Having anything plugged into that port will cause the radio to glitch and the steering wheel controls to stop functioning.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

bwalsh22
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by bwalsh22 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:22 pm

W\R?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4935
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:38 pm

Yes. Look for the port on the back of the radio that says W/R, and make sure it is empty. I'm about 95% sure you have something plugged in there.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

bwalsh22
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: RR w/Pioneer in Wrankler 2013

Post by bwalsh22 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 2:01 pm

That was it! Many thanks all works great now.

Post Reply

Return to “Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep”