Ford Edge

8-Channel Interactive Signal Processor w/ Integrated iDatalink Maestro Module
Post Reply
studstables1
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:37 pm

Ford Edge

Post by studstables1 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:42 pm

I have a 2018 Ford Edge. When I went to update it the software was not available for my make or model. So two questions. When I chat with the folks from Crutchfield they say I don't need a t-harness. But I called idatalink yesterday and she said if the car is not listed it will not work. Is there any possible way to hook the DSR-1 to the Edge or should I take it back. Or, when will the firmware be available for the Ford Edge if ever. It matters because it may be the difference between me going all Rockford or switching to another option.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Ford Edge

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:12 pm

It was me you talked to. What I said was that there is no t-harness or maestro firmware for the Edge, so the DSR1 would have to be used in standalone mode. If you remove the OEM Amplifier, you will lose the ability to control your volume from the radio, and also your steering wheel controls.

However- If you keep the OEM amp installed, hook the DSR1 up on the output side of the OEM amplifier and use the DSR1 as a processor, it will work.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

studstables1
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:37 pm

Re: Ford Edge

Post by studstables1 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:18 pm

Thanks for your response and help yesterday. Another question for you. Let's say I install it in the manner that you suggest (after the factory amp), will the factory amp still be able to drive speakers that are still hooked up to the factory amp? So for example if I want to keep the speakers in the back doors and not hook them to the aftermarket amp to avoid purchasing quality speakers in the back doors can I have it both ways—if I want?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Ford Edge

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:20 pm

Yes, that should work.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

studstables1
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:37 pm

Re: Ford Edge

Post by studstables1 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:26 pm

Dara,

Do you know if and/or when they will be adding the Edge to the list of compatible cars?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Ford Edge

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:30 pm

We suspect it is the same as the 2017 model, but we haven't tested it yet, which is why it isn't on our website. I don't have an ETA at this time.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

studstables1
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:37 pm

Re: Ford Edge

Post by studstables1 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:08 am

The only two I saw on the website are for the Focus and the Mustang. I have a feeling it's more about the version of Sync vs. Sync 3 you have. And which factory upgrade you have. In this case the Sony upgrade.

studstables1
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:37 pm

Re: Ford Edge

Post by studstables1 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:17 pm

Do you know where the location of the Sony amp for the 2018 Ford Edge sport is?

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: Ford Edge

Post by Zack Flynn » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:20 pm

If it is the same as the 17, it is behind the left rear quarterpanel trim
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

Post Reply

Return to “Maestro DSR1”