2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Group using the SU1 and SU2 firmware for Ford SYNC retention * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
jawrsh
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 9:01 am

2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by jawrsh » Wed May 09, 2018 9:10 am

I'm interested in replacing my Harman Kardon navigation head unit but I am not ready to replace the amp or speakers so I wonder if it's possible to integrate with the factory amp. Does idatalink have a product that will facilitate this? The features list on the RR doesn't include anything to do with audio.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed May 09, 2018 10:10 am

We do retain the Harman Kardon. You would need a Maestro RR, the SU2 harness, and a iDatalink compatible radio.

http://maestro.idatalink.com/accessorie ... project/rr

http://maestro.idatalink.com/compatible-radios
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

jawrsh
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 9:01 am

Re: 2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by jawrsh » Wed May 09, 2018 10:27 am

Thanks Dara. I thought the SU2 was just for amp replacement so thanks for clarifying. I don't see it for sale anywhere online though. Any idea where I can find one?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed May 09, 2018 10:52 am

It's brand new, so it's just getting into distribution. That can make it hard to find. You might try local vendors, if there is nothing online. You can search maestro dealers at the link below:
http://maestro.idatalink.com/find-product
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

jawrsh
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 9:01 am

Re: 2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by jawrsh » Tue May 15, 2018 4:19 pm

I found a shop on your site that is trying to get me one, so thanks.

Looking at the install diagram the SU2 harness has an aux cable that connects to one of the car's plugs but it also shows a 3.5mm audio cable from the MRR to the aftermarket radio. If there's an aux cable in the SU2 harness where does the other audio cable plug in at the radio?

I see you just announced the uSU2 USB adapter so that only leaves one connection not yet addressed: the factory bluetooth mic. Do you have anything for that?

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: 2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by Zack Flynn » Tue May 15, 2018 5:59 pm

The "audio cable" would go to the idatalink input on the aftermarket radio, and the "aux" would go into a separate aux source or AV type input on the radio. There isn't a way to use the factory microphone with the aftermarket radio at this time. You would need to use the microphone that comes with your new radio.
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

jawrsh
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 9:01 am

Re: 2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by jawrsh » Tue May 15, 2018 11:26 pm

I don't mean the data cable. The diagram shows the data cable AND a 3.5mm audio cable from the maestro to the radio, and a 3.5mm aux cable as part of the harness going to the radio.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2016 Legacy with Harman Kardon nav

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed May 16, 2018 8:45 am

Zack isn't talking about the data cable. The one he refers to as the "audio cable" is the 3-pin to 3.5mm on our diagram that goes between the maestro and the radio. Does that clarify it a bit?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “Subaru”