pioneer avh 2440 nex gauges

Post Reply
navymaa
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:05 pm

pioneer avh 2440 nex gauges

Post by navymaa » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:08 pm

Is there any particular reason why I am unable to monitor torque? I see it as an option, but it's highlighted in a faded blue with an X to the left. There are a few that do not allow me to select. Also acceleration doesn't actually function.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: pioneer avh 2440 nex gauges

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:22 pm

If a gauge is shown with an x next to it, that means we don't see that information on the data lines where we're looking. If the data isn't present, we can't populate it as a gauge.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

navymaa
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:05 pm

Re: pioneer avh 2440 nex gauges

Post by navymaa » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:23 pm

What about acceleration (G's)?

I also read about tapping into the OBDII , would that make the data available?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: pioneer avh 2440 nex gauges

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:25 pm

Tapping into the OBD2 wouldn't make a difference- you'd still be connected to the same data wires.

When you say acceleration doesn't function, what do you mean?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

navymaa
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:05 pm

Re: pioneer avh 2440 nex gauges

Post by navymaa » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:30 pm

I am able to select the gauge for acceleration, however it's not operational... it's suppose to monitor the G force data.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: pioneer avh 2440 nex gauges

Post by Dara DeGrand » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:50 pm

You could try going into the gauges setup and validating the PIDs to see if that makes a difference in that gauge's operation. Otherwise, the car might not be sending us usable data, which is why it's inactive.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “CH3 radio replacement solution”