OBD2 Disconnected

Group using the CH1, CH2 and CH3 firmwares for uConnect, steering wheel controls, OEM amplifier retention. compatible with select Mitsubishi and Volkswagen vehicles * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Akib7
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:48 pm

OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Akib7 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 1:00 pm

Hello i just installed a Kenwood ddx393 using the maestro rr and ch2 harness in my 2007 dodge caliber R/T and going through all my features i notice the my gauges say OBD disconnected and when i go into my setting and go about gauges i get a message
Image
I have checked my connections and have them soldered to the can lines on the obd2 port to make it solid.

How can i fix this issue?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:01 pm

See the link below; there is a document attached in this thread that addresses your issue.

http://www.12voltdata.com/forum/viewtop ... 85&t=13979
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Akib7
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Akib7 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:09 pm

okay looked at that link and my wiring is correct and my splice is the same as what was pictured at the top of that forum and my obd2 port only had 5 wires 2 being the can wires in the proper pins idk if i have to do a reset to the module or whats going on i have everything hooked up to the instructions minus the reverse signal as it wasnt working so i wired that to the light circuit running down the drivers side

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:21 pm

You can try resetting...Normally the OBD2 disconnected error is because the can wires are not in the correct locations on the maestro's 18-pin harness.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Akib7
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Akib7 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:54 pm

okay i checked the pins and they are correct and i reset the module and nothing i have it set to Always Enable

Image

i checked to see if i had them hooked up to my obd2 and they are correct to my obd pins im really confused of why it isnt working

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:59 pm

How are you connected to the OBD2? The reason that error pops up is because the RR is not seeing any signal from the OBD2. This is normally due to poor connections or the can high/low wires being connected backwards.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Akib7
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Akib7 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:27 pm

okay im looking at the wiring the one thing im questioning also is the canH supposed to go to the can+ or can-

Image

Image

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:34 pm

Can High = Can +
Can Low = Can -
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Akib7
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Akib7 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:47 pm

okay so i checked all my connection and respliced the obd to make sure it is proper and its still not working

following picture is of the splices i made

Image

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:06 pm

Those connections may not be good enough. Try stripping the OBD wires back a little more, so that the wires have more contact along the surface area.
militarysplice.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Akib7
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Akib7 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:22 pm

Okay i widened the splices and its still not working idk whats going on and why this isn't working other people have been able to get the caliber gauges working but i cannot and its weird.

Akib7
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Akib7 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 3:38 pm

Okay so I called into support and they helped me went thought the pinning on the 18pin plug that was correct then to check if there was a plug on the harness for the obd2 but mine didn't have that so we went though a module reset by unplugging the power and the 4 pin data cable to the radio and press and held the programming button and plugged in the two harnesses let my radio boot up and my gauges worked.

kingtj
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:16 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by kingtj » Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:01 am

I just wanted to add that I've been having the exact same issue with getting the OBDII disconnected message and digital gauges doing nothing on my Alpine X109-WRA head unit and Maestro interface. And just as you found, the solution involved disconnecting the cables from the Maestro and holding down the reset button on it, while re-attaching them.

What's really annoying though, is I can recreate this problem any time by simply detaching the OBDII cable from the port while the stereo is powered on.

Every time, that crashes something in the Maestro, requiring this whole reset procedure to make it communicate with the OBDII port again.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Feb 27, 2017 8:57 am

Our engineers are aware of the issue and are working on coding a fix for it. It really only seems to be happening with the Wranglers. You can always reset the RR through the radio instead of doing it manually (the reset is found in the iDatalink setup menus, under "maestro module").
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

bryanghanson
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 6:47 pm

Re: OBD2 Disconnected

Post by bryanghanson » Sun May 20, 2018 6:55 pm

Has any progress been made related to the coding fix mentioned. I can keep doing a master reset on the Maestro interface through my X109-WRA head unit but I'd rather not if a fix is available.

Post Reply

Return to “Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep”