Maestro RR stopped working after firmware upgrade

Group using the HK1 firmware * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
Deets86
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:05 pm

Maestro RR stopped working after firmware upgrade

Post by Deets86 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:53 pm

Car: 2014 Kia Soul

Headunit: Kenwood DMX7704S

Maestro RR Firmware: ADS-RR(SR)-HK01-DS (512) v1.5

So, I took my Maestro RR out yesterday to update the firmware (saw on the website that the firmware now supports more gauges such as tire pressure). Flashed it and returned to the car. Hooked everything up, and... no controls.

I took everything apart, including ensuring that the red/yellow/black wires were solidly connected.

I took the red/yellow/black wire plug out and took the idatalink plug out and reconnected it. The maestro flashed green and the steering wheel controls worked. Unfortunately, the head unit would just display "please turn key to ignition". I turned the car on and the maestro stopped working.

I repeated various combinations of the above for a good two hours, including reflashing the maestro to ensure the flash was good and resetting the device.

So... I know the maestro is flashed correctly (ish?) and the the controls work, but something is going on (software/hardware?) regarding the power.

I even tried powering it with the USB port, with the same results.

Any ideas?


Note: I did/do have everything hardwired without the HRN-RR-HK1 T harness. Would updating the firmware make that harness necessary when it previously wasn't?

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: Maestro RR stopped working after firmware upgrade

Post by Zack Flynn » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:01 pm

The new firmware that supports the additional features does require the RR-HK1 harness. All firmwares that begin with "SR" require the vehicle specific harness, firmwares that start with "SI" are hardwire type
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

Deets86
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Maestro RR stopped working after firmware upgrade

Post by Deets86 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:13 pm

Okay. Can you confirm that the new firmware supports new gauges, such as tire pressure monitoring? The firmware I'm coming from is around a year old.

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: Maestro RR stopped working after firmware upgrade

Post by Zack Flynn » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:16 pm

I sent the original firmware to your user account, so you an put it back the way it was until you get a chance to get the HK1 harness. Choose "flash by user firmware" and select the 1.9 version that is in there and then finish up the rest of the flash as before.
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

Deets86
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Maestro RR stopped working after firmware upgrade

Post by Deets86 » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:38 pm

I appreciate you sending that, but when I went to flash it, it was for the Kia Sedona, not the Kia Soul. The sedona has less steering wheel buttons than the Soul

Could you add the firmware for the Soul to my account?

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: Maestro RR stopped working after firmware upgrade

Post by JustinFerroni » Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:32 pm

Please give us a call Monday.
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “Hyundai, Kia”