Tire location not working (TPMS)

Group using the SU1 and SU2 firmware* see specific firmware for full feature list.
fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:06 pm

On a Subaru 2013 Crosstrek, RR, SU2, and Pioneer DMH-1500NEX, I’m having trouble setting the tire locations. I can get to the location option and then through the screen sequence that leads to the deflation page. Once there some text flashes that I think says deflate front left tire. It flashes so quickly it’s hard to be sure. I then go to LF and deflate it. It shows the pressure drop in psi but no additional instructions. Even turns red when below 27. There’s also no beep or tone as described, even when defaulting it by over 10psi.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:31 pm

If the instructions don't stay on the screen, it sounds like the learning procedure is timing out too quickly. Normally, the text should stay on the screen until that tire learns and you hear a beep, and then it should change to the next tire. We are looking into this.

In the meantime, have you tried a reset on the RR to see if that resolves the issue? It can be done through the radio. Go to: Setup > OEM Setup > Maestro Features > Maestro Module > Master Reset
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Sat Aug 24, 2019 5:09 pm

Thanks!
I tried the reset, but there was no change. It did not resolve the issue.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:42 am

Ok, bear with us; we're trying to replicate the issue here to see if there is a firmware problem. I'll keep you posted as soon as I hear back from our R&D tech.

Update: We tested here and we aren't able to replicate the issue. Is there any way you could have someone take video of what the radio screen shows when you're doing this procedure? If we can see it happening, it will help us figure out what might be going on.

One other thing to note: There is an audio cable that runs between the maestro and the radio's aux port, and that is what beeps/chimes during the tire pressure learning procedure. If you don't have the cable installed, or if it's in the wrong port, that will cause you to not hear it.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:29 pm

Thanks for looking into this. I’ll check on the cable and do a video this weekend.

fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:23 am

On the audio cable, there is two audio cables with 3 conductor 1/8” plugs. One from the harness that comes from the aux input in the car console, and one from the maestro. But only one 1/8” aux input on the Pioneer. Do I have to choose only one to use? Does one cover both the car aux input and the maestro audio? Or something else?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed Aug 28, 2019 8:18 am

The one on the t-harness is for the aux in the console. The maestro's audio cable is for your beeps for setting tire location.

Unfortunately, this radio only has one aux. The maestro's audio cable has to be in aux in order to function properly, so moving the OEM aux cable to an AV input is the best option. It allows both cables to have their own input.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Fri Aug 30, 2019 10:19 pm

Here’s the video of attempting to set the TPMS locations.
phpBB [video]

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by JustinFerroni » Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:17 pm

Please drive the vehicle to wake the TPMS system up and then attempt to set tire location.
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:20 pm

I tried to set it right after driving but it does not help. I’ve also tried setting the location by activating the pressure sensors using an Autel TPMS activator. Both cases result in the flash of instruction, then no more on screen help. You can see the pressure drop but no sound or further instruction.

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by Zack Flynn » Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:04 pm

Did you hook the 3 pin audio cable from the RR into the AUX like Dara advised earlier? This is the only way that you would get the beep you are waiting to hear.
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:57 pm

Yes. The 3pin audio cable was in Aux. Aux volume set to mid level.

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by Zack Flynn » Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:43 pm

We are looking into the firmware on our end. While they are doing that, please update the RR that you have installed now, as an update was put out at the end of last month. Nothing specifically related to your issue, but we want to make sure we have you on the latest firmware.
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by Zack Flynn » Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:36 pm

The engineers have posted 1.8 live for flashing. Please update the RR to 1.8 (verify this is the version after the flash) and let us know if this corrects your issue. Thanks for working with us on this.
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

fullertimattnet
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:57 pm

Re: Tire location not working (TPMS)

Post by fullertimattnet » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:21 pm

It works! Flashed to 1.8 and the tire location worked first time. Including the beeps on the Aux channel. Many thanks to the team for helping with this one. Well done!

Post Reply

Return to “Subaru”