Mustang

Group using the FO1 and FO2 firmware for Ford SYNC retention * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
BobbyTory
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:03 pm

Mustang

Post by BobbyTory » Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:56 pm

I have a 2014 Mustang GT, w/Sync, non-nav, but replaced head unit with a JVC KW-V420BT and the RR, w/the F01 and the MUS1 kit, I programmed as recommended and included the gauges I desired, but ever since I installed this the fuel gauge will not function, everything else works as expected, the obd port is connected and active. What causes this and is it even supported ?

User avatar
billr
ADS Team
Posts: 565
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:18 am

Re: Mustang

Post by billr » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:47 pm

for the fuel information to work you have to enter some information. If you go into the OEM Settings, go into Vehicle Features, then go into Gauges, then finally go into Fuel Economy you will have to enter the fuel tank capacity. You maybe have to adjust the tank capacity up or down depending to get the correct information because we may not know if the manufacture calculated the total gallons of the tank of just under so you still have a little gas in the tank even if it says empty.
William (Bill) Repicky
Automotive Data Solutions Technical Support
MECP Master Certified
ASE A6 Certified
866-427-2999

BobbyTory
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by BobbyTory » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:54 am

Yes sir my owners manual says 16 gal and that’s what I put in, been messing with it over a year and still won’t show but my F150 started working immediately after I did what you explained so was wondering if was even supported. Thank you for reply.

User avatar
billr
ADS Team
Posts: 565
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:18 am

Re: Mustang

Post by billr » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:26 am

I guess it's possible that the information needed to calculate the fuel percentage remaining is not there, it's a PID that we look for on the data bus.
William (Bill) Repicky
Automotive Data Solutions Technical Support
MECP Master Certified
ASE A6 Certified
866-427-2999

BobbyTory
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by BobbyTory » Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:55 pm

Is there a fix ?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6342
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:48 am

Unfortunately, no. If there is a parameter the car isn't sending and we need it to make the calculation, there is no way we can accurately calculate information when we're missing data.

Imagine you're doing a math problem and you're missing one of the numbers in the equation. You could guess at what the missing number is, but that isn't going to give you an accurate answer. That's the issue we're running into here. To add to that, the missing number/information is constantly changing, so there is no way to accurately give an output based on an estimation.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

BobbyTory
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by BobbyTory » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:31 pm

The problem has since been fixed, but my data cable that goes from the rr module to my jvc 420bt radio is bad, 3 wire that’s red white black, not the 3.5mm but how can I get a new cable please ?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6342
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:35 pm

There is only one three pin, which is the audio cable. The data cable is a 4-pin.

Replacement parts can be purchased here:
https://www.crutchfield.com/S-VHEMWro5E ... Parts.html
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

BobbyTory
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by BobbyTory » Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:48 pm

Is this, the 4 pin that goes from head unit to module ? Mine has 3 pin and it’s the one that goes right beside the 3.5mm one that’s fine it’s the pin on each end cable I need.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6342
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 18, 2019 8:26 am

There are a lot of products on that page; Pick and purchase the one you need based on the pictures. I am having a very hard time understanding what cable you're describing. If you post a picture of it i can help steer you toward the correct product.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

BobbyTory
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: Mustang

Post by BobbyTory » Mon Nov 18, 2019 9:25 pm

I’ll take it out tomorrow and let you know

Post Reply

Return to “Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Mazda”