DSR1 Shuts Off

8-Channel Interactive Signal Processor w/ Integrated iDatalink Maestro Module
Post Reply
wharriso
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:27 pm

DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by wharriso » Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:16 pm

Sometimes, all sound stops in my 2016 Ford Explorer. I have 2 power amps. If it were an amp problem the other amp would still be working so it really narrows down to the DSR1. This has happened 3 times since February and I have no idea how to make it happen. All I know is if I shut the car off to go to a store for 10 minutes or so, I start the car back up then all sound is restored. I can't tell you what lights are flashing because I have the DSR1 installed behind the right rear wall of the car where the power amp used to be installed. It cannot be heat because the first time this happened I was just coming out of a parking lot. It happened today after driving 2 blocks!
I cannot be the only person experiencing this. Has anyone else here experienced sound shutting off?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6248
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Jul 05, 2019 8:46 am

When the sound shuts off, are you still able to operate the volume knob on the radio? Meaning, when you turn it up and down, does the radio show the volume changing?

What firmware versions are you running?

Are you using your own amp turn-on wire, signal sensing, or did you use one supplied by the DSR1?

If you are able to reproduce the issue and have a multimeter, I can explain how to test the audio circuit and find where the issue is occurring.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

wharriso
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:27 pm

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by wharriso » Sat Jul 06, 2019 2:41 pm

The volume goes up and down visually as I turn the dial on the head unit.
I am using the DSR1 amp turn-on wire.
I believe the firmware version is 1.7.0.0, the latest that I downloaded. If that is not correct, is this something I can look up using the app?
I have a multi meter and I know how to use it.

wharriso
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:27 pm

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by wharriso » Sat Jul 06, 2019 2:43 pm

Sorry, I forgot...
I have no idea how to reproduce this issue.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6248
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:18 am

The most current RF firmware is 1.9.3. If you are that far out of date, that would definitely cause issues.

http://rftech.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1324
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

wharriso
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:27 pm

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by wharriso » Mon Jul 08, 2019 2:09 pm

Okay, but I was told earlier that upgrades are to fix specific problems and since my setup was working I should not need a firmware upgrade. Does this mean that the DSR1 needs to be mounted so that it is accessible when upgrades come out? And I cannot just have a USB cable sticking out because connectors have to be removed before attempting a firmware upgrade?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6248
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Jul 08, 2019 3:17 pm

Yes, but if your firmware is way out of date and you're experiencing problems that aren't easy to replicate, making sure your firmwares are up to date would be a good place to start. Rockford does list the change log of what they fixed on each firmware update on the link I posted above.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

ecobeast1
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:11 am

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by ecobeast1 » Tue Jul 09, 2019 8:57 am

I have a 2013 f150 fx4. Randomly my dsr1 turns off then back on for about 30 seconds. Also every now and then I will get a thump from the amps turning off and on even when the truck is off. Kinda bad when you have 6 12s. When it turns off I have no volume control. All connections that do not have a plug are soldered and when the car is in drive after I start moving I get 6 little thumps. I have dsr1 with a plc2 for sub volume and that is hooked up to an t8004 for front a t4004 and 3 t1000 (1 per 2 p3 12s subs ......


Tried reflash that didnt solve the issue . Been dealing with this now for 8 months...... other dsr1 one for friends havent had any issues. What am I doing wrong

HELP

User avatar
Zack Flynn
ADS Team
Posts: 691
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by Zack Flynn » Tue Jul 09, 2019 7:21 pm

What Rockford and Maestro firmwares are on your unit? Also, what does the DSR1 LED do when the unit shuts off and you lose volume?
Zack Flynn
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support & MECP Master Installation Technician
Zachary.flynn@adsdata.ca

ecobeast1
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:11 am

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by ecobeast1 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:43 am

It reboots. Starts a new sequence. I believe I have 1.9.1 if I'm correct

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6248
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 Shuts Off

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:10 am

The current version is 1.9.4. I recommend updating both the Rockford and Maestro firmwares.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “Maestro DSR1”