ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Group using the FO1 and FO2 firmware for Ford SYNC retention * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Mon May 27, 2019 6:02 pm

Warning,long post.

Ok, I started off with a 2013 F150 xlt with the 4 inch screen. I had a history of issues but idatalink treated me great. I traded the truck in 2018 for a F250 with 4 inch screen. I moved my head unit (pioneer avh-4200nex) and my RR module to the new truck and purchased a new dash kit for the F250. But life is not all good.

Here are my history of issues:

On the f150 I had many many instances where the radio would say that the dash kit was not detected. I rewired the RR module per the recommended procedure but i still had problems. Idatalink sent me a new dash kit but I ended up trading the truck before i could get it installed.

Now on to the f250. First problem was very minor, my 2018 wires like a 2017 and my backup camera did not work until i corrected the wiring. No big deal. The big problem is that my steering wheel controls, backup camera, stop working fairly frequently. When they stop the radio will NOT turn off. I have found that if I command a master reset of the module from the radio everything goes back to normal but it happens quite requently.

Is the RR module freezing up and is this what has been wrong the entire time with both trucks (just different symptoms)?

4 years of hell, a new truck, and it still isn't working. Help!

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5810
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed May 29, 2019 10:48 am

What is the firmware version on your radio? The F150 and newer F250 are two totally different platforms of firmware, so it's unlikely that we'd see the same issue on two separate firmwares. When this issue occurs, does resetting the radio make a difference in the operation?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Wed May 29, 2019 3:53 pm

Manually powering off the radio and turning it back on did not correct it. I am having trouble attaching images at the moment so here is what i have.

Firmware version 01.03
Firmware name: ads-rr(sr)-for02-ds
Module s/n: B6DD3378DF


My radio lists it under OEM settings/maestro features/maestro module.
The OEM settings page shows F-250 setup at the top.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5810
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed May 29, 2019 4:49 pm

Right, but does resetting the radio? That is a tad different from rebooting it.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Wed May 29, 2019 5:00 pm

I have not tried a reset of the radio. Everything not associated with the RR module worked fine so i never tried.

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Wed May 29, 2019 5:02 pm

I have updated the radio to the latest firmware (main and Bluetooth firmware) and the problem continued.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5810
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed May 29, 2019 5:13 pm

I really recommend resetting the radio at least once as a test. We have a two way communicatoin with the radio, so it actually could be the comm port on the radio freezing up. From the outside, it would look like it's the RR acting up, because all of the maestro related stuff stops working, but it actually may be an issue that's occurring on the radio side.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Wed May 29, 2019 5:18 pm

Ok. I will have to give it some time to do it again. Some days it happens repeatedly some days not at all. Today has been clean so far.

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:52 pm

I think my problem may actually be gone. I flashed my radio to the latest firmware last Monday i thought that the problem had occurred the next day but maybe not because it has not done at all since i posted here.

The truck is in for some warranty work at the moment but if the problem resurfaces I will let you know.

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:19 pm

So i have had the truck back frim the shop for 4 days. This is the longest it has taken for the issue to happen but it did it again tonight.

I could not find a "reset" so did a restore to default on the radio. It did not work plus i lost all of my eq and preset settings......fantastic. After that i commanded a master reset of the RR module and it worked as always.

What now?

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:30 pm

By the way,the restore to default did force a reboot.

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Sat Jun 15, 2019 1:00 pm

Did something new this morning. It was acting like it was not working (not responding to steering wheel inputs) then all of a sudden it started spitting out all of the commands that the steering wheel had been sending.

As i mentioned earlier. My 2018 had to be wired like a 2017 to get the backup camera to work. Is the RR module firmware different between the 2017 and 2018? I have 2018 firmware on it but if there is a difference i might actually need 2017 since that is how it wires???

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5810
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:34 am

The firmware between the 17-18 Superduty is the same.

Just to clarify, did rebooting the radio fix the issue? You said restoring the settings forced a reboot, but didn't say if it fixed it.

Also, there is a physical reset button located somewhere on the face of the radio in case it is frozen. It is very small, about the size that a paper clip would fit into. I would like you to try resetting the radio that way; by pressing that button for 5 seconds, until the radio reboots itself.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Milton
New User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ongoing issues with RR module - freezing

Post by Milton » Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:00 pm

Milton wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:19 pm
It did not work .......After that i commanded a master reset of the RR module and it worked as always.

What now?
I guess i will wait for it to happen again and keep a paper clip with me.

Post Reply

Return to “Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Mazda”