Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Group using the VW1 firmware for Media Device Interface (MDI), Multi-Funtion Display (MFD), bluetooth, amplifier turn on, amplifier digital fader, amplifier gain adjustment, steering wheel control, custom gauges, vehicle info, park assist, Navigation arrows on MFD, climate status screen...
Post Reply
Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

I had read somewhere, can't seem to find it again, that moving one wire over would send a remote turn on signal to the Bose amp.

Is there any truth to this? It says VW1 does not retain OEM amp, but I figured that had been solved by now. There was also another post that said if I flashed the RR as another VW car it would work.

Any advice?

I have a 2009 Audi TT with the controls in the steering wheel,
Connecting to a Kenwood DNX-574s, front and rear cameras and Sirius.

Thanks so much

billr
ADS Team
Posts: 673
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:18 am

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by billr »

So from talking to a source close to an Audi tech, i was told that the amplifiers in the TT could be a digital turn on or an analog turn on, and it could be changed at the dealership through programming. Technically we do not support amplifier retention in that car....however....if you take your amplifier turn on wire of the radio and connect it to the White/Blue wire that is in the Maestro's Green 10 way connector, it may turn on the amplifier. Of course that is if the amplifier is set up for an analog turn on.

Again since we technically say no amplifier retention then that's our stance and anything you do outside of that is your responsibility. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

sounds good. I will give it a try. Worst case, doesn't work

Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

hooked up still no sound, I hooked the Kenwood's P. CONT (blue / white stripe) to the Maestros corresponding Blue w/ white stripe.

However, tracing that one it goes into the Maestro green connector with the White / blue stripe. I assumed that it would send the signal via the Maestro to the White / blue stripe.

Where should I just connect to the White / Blue stripe:

Closer to PIN 13 on the Harness?
or cut in heading to the Maestro?
Or just disconnect the White / Blue from Maestro and connect there.

I have already reprogrammed the Audi for remote wire turn on. Just wanted to see where to connect.
Thanks so much, everything works great so far, minus this one.

billr
ADS Team
Posts: 673
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:18 am

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by billr »

just connect anywhere on the White/Blue wire. that will be the output towards the amplifier, which is what we want.

Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

Didn't work. Will have to figure something out.

Going to look at the Amp tomorrow in the light and make sure its connected all the way as well.

Is there anyway to direct connect speakers without running lines to each speaker?

billr
ADS Team
Posts: 673
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:18 am

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by billr »

you can grab the speaker wires at the amp so you don't have to run new wires.

Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

Got it up and running. Didn't run the speaker wire, but did need to make a few changes.

The portion of the quadlock connector I had to remove All the connectors and replace them with RCA to Pins to go into the Green connector.

What if anything did the wires do in that connector?

I want to make sure that there are no critical functions or wires that are needed.

Also, to make it compatible, the White with Blue stripe needed to be connected to the Amp on cable from the Kenwood.

Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

One other thing. Doing it this way allows for the fader and balance functions to work.

User avatar
JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by JustinFerroni »

Glad to hear you got it going!
Cheers
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist
ADS Maestro
T 514.807.2888
Justin.Ferroni@adsdata.ca

Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

The wires that were pulled out, did those have a function?

nekit
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:22 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by nekit »

Could you better describe what you had to do to get the Bose to work with the RR? I think I've figured out the Amp on, just need to figure our the pre outs for the amp. Thanks

Mikiejag
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by Mikiejag »

I think i might still have some photos.
It was basically re-wiring the connector to match up with the KENWOOD.
The for the amp specifically I took rca cables and matched them up with the green connector with grounding.

Let me look for the photo and post it

nekit
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:22 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by nekit »

Thanks Pictures would be great!

nekit
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:22 pm

Re: Audi TT using VW1 adapter and Bose

Post by nekit »

Also. Do you remember what controller and coding you changed in VCDS to get the analog turn on in the Bose?

Post Reply

Return to “Volkswagen”