TO1 -> SU2 2013 BRZ

Post Reply
Smokinbuffalo
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 2:52 pm
Location: Washington State, USA

TO1 -> SU2 2013 BRZ

Post by Smokinbuffalo » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:12 pm

I have a US model 2013 Subaru BRZ limited, with a manual transmission. I replaced the factory stereo with a Kenwood DMX-905S and a RR with a TO1 harness, which was supported at the time. I recently replaced the TO1 with a SU2 and updated the RR's firmware.
I deviated from the installation instructions slightly after consulting iDatalink tech support. I did not connect the Starlink wire (no starlink in 2013), and I connected via speaker wires after connecting via RCA didn't work.
Everything seems to be connected correctly and working, but I have a few issues/questions.

I can no longer access vehicle settings such as DRL, interior lights, door locks, etc. Does this sound like an installation or firmware issue?

During a long drive I switched off my automatic climate controls, and the RR suddenly lost connection to the OBD2. Turning the head unit off and on corrected the issue. The OBD2 connector did not appear to be loose. Does this sound like an installation problem, RR bug, feature, fluke, or maybe poltergeist?

The SU2 harness and firmware did fix issues I had with the TO1. The reverse signal connection now works. more gauges are available/working. And the speakers sound much better :!:

Smokinbuffalo
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 2:52 pm
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: TO1 -> SU2 2013 BRZ

Post by Smokinbuffalo » Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:09 pm

I noticed that the pins on my OBD2 connector had gotten loose and would not keep a stable connection. I had this same issue with the TO1 harness, and ended up leaving the OBD2 disconnected. I had hoped the connector in the SU2 harness would have fixed this issue.
So I am contemplating re-seating the pins and using hot glue to try and keep them from working loose. Any thoughts?

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: TO1 -> SU2 2013 BRZ

Post by JustinFerroni » Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:26 pm

you can also cut the wires in the obd2 connector on the SU2 side and splice them into the vehicles side freeing up the obd2 port.
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

Smokinbuffalo
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 2:52 pm
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: TO1 -> SU2 2013 BRZ

Post by Smokinbuffalo » Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:47 pm

I would prefer to avoid splicing OBD2 wires on my vehicle. I am starting to suspect the pins are mis-aligning with the car's port. While they do connect, just poorly. I wonder if shimming the pins with some scrap plastic would be able to correct alignment.
I might try de-pinning the Connector and manually inserting the pins in the car's OBD2 port.

Anyone know if vehicle settings are supposed to work in my application?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5816
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: TO1 -> SU2 2013 BRZ

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:43 am

I don't believe the BRZ's factory radio had vehicle settings in it. Because of that, I would say they are not supposed to work in this car.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “SU2 radio replacement solution”