Maestro RR and Toyota Rav 4 with Alpine iLX

Locked
Z86
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:55 am

Maestro RR and Toyota Rav 4 with Alpine iLX

Post by Z86 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:05 am

Hi Maestro

I recently purchased an Alpine iLX702D for my 2018 Rav4 . Alpine says it supports CAN features and is basically an F309 without the floating screen. When I try and enter my serial number it says not valid. I can install the iLX007 flash but that only has basic functionality which I don't really need an RR for.
Is there a beta flash that I could use for this model?
Thanks

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5927
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro RR and Toyota Rav 4 with Alpine iLX

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:53 am

Dara DeGrand wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:56 am
Because we are a North American company and only have a partnership with Alpine USA, not Alpine Europe.

That radio is not a North American model, so it is not iDatalink compatible. There is no beta to make it work.

If you used the RR, the only things we could do with this radio are steering wheel control retention and OEM amplifier retention.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Z86
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:55 am

Re: Maestro RR and Toyota Rav 4 with Alpine iLX

Post by Z86 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:12 pm

Thanks Dara, is there any chance of getting the f309 firmware (or ilx207) onto my unit so I can see what works. I'm sure I should be able to get more than just steering wheel controls according to Alpine Australia. Unfortunately no-one in Australia does a CAN unit with more than SWC functionality which is why I bought the maestro. Didn't think it would be serial number locked.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5927
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro RR and Toyota Rav 4 with Alpine iLX

Post by Dara DeGrand » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:29 am

It's not that the serial number is locked, it's that our partnership is only with Alpine North America. Because of that, the non-North American units do not have any of the maestro stuff coded into the radio's firmware. Nothing would work. You would need to flash it as an Alpine "Other with bluetooth" when it asks for the model number of the radio. That is the only way to get any semblance of functioning firmware for a unit that is not made for the market that is supported.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Locked

Return to “TO2 radio replacement solution”