RR and VW2 harness questions

Group using the VW1 firmware for Media Device Interface (MDI), Multi-Funtion Display (MFD), bluetooth, amplifier turn on, amplifier digital fader, amplifier gain adjustment, steering wheel control, custom gauges, vehicle info, park assist, Navigation arrows on MFD, climate status screen...
Post Reply
Adurm
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:38 am

RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Adurm » Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:22 pm

I have some questions about the RR and VW2 harness. The VW2 has a 2 pin red connector that I cant figure out where it goes to. Also the aux cable on the VW2, does that go to the aux input on the pioneer deck? On the RR module, the blue plug has a headphone looking plug with a blue/orange wire (or something like that, I'm a little color blind). Where do those go? I'm having a very hard time finding wiring diagrams for the VW2 and anything in depth about the RR wiring. Thank you!

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:44 pm

What model of Pioneer are you installing?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Adurm
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:38 am

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Adurm » Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:21 pm

Avhx 4700

Adurm
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:38 am

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Adurm » Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:49 pm

Additional info: I'm not getting power through the red accessory wire from the rr to the pioneer plug. The rr gives a single flash of red light followed by 2 red flashes. Well i think they're red. The car is a 2016 gti. I know it's not officially supported (the vw2 harness box has one on there), but let's call it a 2016 jetta for argument sake.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:46 am

Adurm wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:49 pm
The car is a 2016 gti. I know it's not officially supported
There is your answer. We don't list the car because we can't support it. The coding for this car is different than any other VW we currently cover, which is why your radio won't turn on. We are developing firmware for this platform of car, but it is not ready yet.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Adurm
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:38 am

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Adurm » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:19 am

Thank you for your reply. I hope you guys can get the software worked out for the golf/GTI platform. I guess I will tap the fuse box for accessory power until then.

Adurm
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:38 am

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Adurm » Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:08 pm

Do you have an ETA on that firmware?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:03 am

There is no ETA on the firmware at this time, as it is still in development.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Adurm
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:38 am

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Adurm » Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:21 pm

Thank you for your assistance thus far, Dara. I have some more questions which may not be answerable at this point considering the GTI is not supported yet. So they are more so general questions about the RR and pioneer avh x4700bs. Is it okay to drive around with the update USB cable plugged into the RR? I figure if I have to take out the stereo to do the parking brake bypass, I might as well have all the wires ready for firmware. Or do I have to have all of the RR connectors unplugged for updating? The other question is about the parking brake bypass harness. Currently I have the pioneer parking brake wire hooked to the RR brake wire and very few options are available to use on the pioneer menu. Getting to the parking brake on my GTI isn't something I want to do. So enter the microbypass as I'm sure you are aware of. Hopefully it will allow me to access network crossover mode amongst other things. My understanding is that it connects to the pioneer remote out, brake wire and ground. Would I also tie into the RR brake wire or just omit that?

Thank you again!

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by JustinFerroni » Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:51 pm

It is fine to have the USB plugged into the MRR all the time. However when you plan on flashing the MRR you will have to remove power from the unit, this can be done by pulling all fuses for the audio system or by simply disconnecting the battery of the vehicle. As for the brake bypass, that it is a safety feature of the radio and for you and other drivers on the road, therefore we will be unable to assist with disabling such features.
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

Adurm
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:38 am

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Adurm » Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:31 pm

Thank you for your response. I understand about the parking brake thing. I'll do some trial and error. Does the rr need to see the parking brake?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: RR and VW2 harness questions

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Dec 27, 2018 9:47 am

No; we output it for your convenience, and don't need to see it for any reason.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “Volkswagen”