Bypass Maestro/K150 kit 2013 F-150

Group using the FO1 and FO2 firmware for Ford SYNC retention * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
ranesko
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:45 am

Bypass Maestro/K150 kit 2013 F-150

Post by ranesko » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:34 am

I am wanting to know if I can temporarily wire my JVC KW V840 with as little communications with the Maestro RR as possible for test purposes. My head unit repeatedly reboots randomly, and has done so since new. I was NOT able to duplicate the problem on a bench, with the unit running for a week straight. So far the head unit has been replaced, the Maestro RR has been replaced, the K150 kit has been rewired for the loss of climate control known issue, a separate 12v accessory feed has been tried. The only thing really not replaced yet are the wiring harnesses. But I did shake them all vigorously while attempting to entice the reboot and could not see a problem. To be clear, the head unit DOES NOT lose clock/time, as would be the case if the 12V constant was interrupted or the ground was bad. As I've said, it acts like the 12V accessory lead is bad but I have even wired that red wire directly to the positive battery terminal and the unit still reboots. JVC wants me to run the unit as basic as possible (power, ground, speakers) in the truck, to try to isolate the problem (truck, Maestro, K150 kit, software, steering wheel controls from the Maestro, data, etc.). So my real questing is can I still have climate controls operational via the K150 kit, temporarily, while trying to isolate the Maestro from my head unit? Any help is appreciated!

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5231
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Bypass Maestro/K150 kit 2013 F-150

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:02 am

The maestro is what makes the climate controller in the dash kit function. You can try to flash the RR for a different model of JVC 2009 and newer with Bluetooth) and that will give you an analog firmware, which is totally different than what you have now. The only wiring changes you'll have to make are removing (or disconnecting) the data cable and putting the blue 4-pin plug in to make your steering wheel controls work.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

ranesko
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:45 am

Re: Bypass Maestro/K150 kit 2013 F-150

Post by ranesko » Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:34 am

Blue 4 pin plug? Hmmm. Could this be my problem? I for sure have the blue cable hooked up as well as the data cable. The only spot on the Maestro not occupied is a two pin port in the middle on one side of the maestro.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5231
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Bypass Maestro/K150 kit 2013 F-150

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:52 am

You shouldn't be using that blue plug at all in this install type. This could definitely cause weird behavior from the radio. Perhaps remove that, and see if the issue goes away. If not, you can try re-flashing like I explained above as a test.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

ranesko
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:45 am

Re: Bypass Maestro/K150 kit 2013 F-150

Post by ranesko » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:47 am

I will do so and update here. And tell the BestBuy installer what happened!

Post Reply

Return to “Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Mazda”