Maestro not powering on

Post Reply
mmcarty
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 4:52 pm

Maestro not powering on

Post by mmcarty » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:05 pm

I need some help and maybe some pointers on what to look for. I have a 2012 Ford F150 Raptor with Factory Sync Nav. I'm using an F01 harness and have flashed the Maestro to the latest firmware. I'm highly certain I have made all the right connections and have all the right plugs connected to the Maestro. My sync radio has one grey (the medium size of the 3 female plugs for the harness) and a white circular one. I believe the latter is for backup camera and other video. I've checked power and I'm getting 12V to the main plug on the maestro (plug C on the instructions) but there is no green light nor any power being passed thru to the red/yellow/black connector on the other side of the Maestro (thus no power up to the HU). OBD2 is connected, etc. I just can't figure out what is wrong. When I plug the Maestro into my PC for potential flashing, it does come on so it's working. I can't figure out why it's not powering up when installed in the truck.

Thanks for the advice!!!!

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:27 pm

Call us at the number in my signature when you're in the truck and you have a few minutes to troubleshoot with us.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

crchilds
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by crchilds » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:56 pm

Did you ever solve this? It sounds like a similar issue I am having with my 2016 Ford Transit. Power goes to Maestro but Ign/Acc wire coming out does not send power to HU.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by Dara DeGrand » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:04 am

Is it the base am/fm radio? Or the 4.3" screen?

Some trims of transit do not have data behind the radio; they've got analog power behind the radio, so the maestro will not work with them.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

kebra
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by kebra » Sun Jan 06, 2019 8:28 pm

Follow up question on this...

I have a transit with the base AM/FM only radio that you mention below, and I'm installing a Pioneer MVH-1400NEX head unit. I understand that a standard installation of the Maestro with the F02 harness is not possible, however is it possible to install the Maestro in some limited configuration in order to pass vehicle OBD2 information to the head unit?

Thanks.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:23 am

The only thing you would be able to get is gauges; if you have any interest in that, you would flash the RR as a 2010 Toyota Land Cruiser and hardwire it to the vehicle.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

kebra
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by kebra » Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:09 am

Hi Dara,

Thanks for the reply. I am interested in this (I already purchased a Maestro RR and F02 in order to pull in the gauges, and have now realized that this will not work as a 'standard' install...)

So I can flash as a 2010 Land Cruiser, then for wiring, do I just need to connect the OBD, the Maestro-Pioneer communication, and splice in the Maestro power (positive/negative/switched power)?

Thanks again.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:24 am

Yes. You'll follow the guide and hook up everything except the SW wires (purple/red, pink/red, and black/white).
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

kebra
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by kebra » Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:36 am

Hi Dara,

So I've programmed the module as a 2010 landcruiser and wired it as you suggested, however I'm receiving an "OBD2: Error 2" message.

Is there a troubleshooting guide somewhere which describes what the errors mean, or can you provide any guidance?

Thanks again.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5834
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Maestro not powering on

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:58 am

Have you tried resetting the RR?

The next thing to try would be to check the OBD2 wiring. Ensure that you used the brown/red and brown/yellow, not the yellow/brown and red/brown. They are pinned right next to each other, so it is an easy mistake to make.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “FO1 radio replacement solution”