Page 4 of 5

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:22 am
by henkew
Hi Dara, is your update just for the 9 and 19 speaker Rams? Or will this update also help out the stock 6 speaker system (currently running in universal mode)?

Thanks!

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:49 am
by Dara DeGrand
Our firmwares only support amplified vehicles. Any non-amplified vehicle running in standalone mode is not affected by our updates.

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:40 pm
by James Cole
Dara will the Harman Kardon system output 4 channels or only 2 channels?

And how will the chimes and nav directions be handled ?

So if I understand correctly the DSR1 receives a completely flat unprocessed signal correct? and will output the same...

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:09 pm
by Dara DeGrand
It takes the same signal the OEM deck sent to the OEM amp. It should be flat, unless you tune the bass/mid/treble on the deck to alter the output.

See this link for information/manuals on the DSR1. http://rftech.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1324

The nav and chimes are done like the oem amp did them. If you choose to keep your center channel, nav will come out of that. Chimes will come out of whatever speaker they came from originally (door chime from the fronts, rear/parking assist chimes from the rear speakers).

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:47 pm
by Bacovish
Ol guys. I have a 2019 ram with the 12” HK system and I’m fixing to install the dsr1. So I’m going to run down what I have going on so please chime in if something doesn’t sound right or if you have any tips.

I’m going to run the dsr1 in maestro mode and sending only the front left and right signal to my DSP. I’ll be using the dsr1 only to flatten the signal. No processing.
Am I correct with this configuration?

Is there anything when flashing and going through the menu to program the dsr1 I need to be aware of in this configuration?

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:53 am
by JustinFerroni
You just need the DSR1 and CH4 otherwise you are all set

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:27 pm
by Bacovish
So when I get the maestro I need to flash Bluetooth. Then I go to Rockford and flash. Then I go back to maestro and flash the specific vehicle info??

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:52 am
by JustinFerroni
Correct, update the BT module first then the rockford firmware and finally ADS firmware

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 7:53 am
by Bacovish
Update: last weekend it took 3 of us 60 hours but we did a complete stereo system install. I can’t say how happy I was when the maestro worked and works flawlessly. With the advice from another installer we ended up soldering the resistors in place instead of the clips due to some possible feedback or noise I have yet been able to hear any kind of noise in my system at all. Complete dead silence.

Side note: I opted to use it in maestro mode and added our own dsp instead of the dsr1. As it turns out this has proved to be a huge asset and tool. I am using the external dsp for fine tuning each channel and then using the ds1 for linking the channels together for a master EQ which helps keep everything in phase. This was an afterthought but hads given me a huge adavantage.

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 7:56 am
by Bacovish
Just wanted to say thanks to Justin and the techs at meastro since I’ve called a few times with many questions and thanks for keeping up with these threads. You guys and gals have been great with your customer services.

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:56 pm
by James Cole
Hello guys... so doing DSR1 in the 2019 ram requires using resistors and stuff?

I thought it was a simple replace oem amp solution and get a clean signal from there to your DSPs and Amps.

Thanks
JC

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:01 pm
by Dara DeGrand
Any Chrysler/Ram vehicle 2017+ that has a radio equipped with carplay/android auto requires the load resistors, or the OEM radio will not play any sound.

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:08 pm
by James Cole
Where can I find instructions on the resistor install?

Also wont adding resistors fudge with the SQ?

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:30 pm
by Dara DeGrand
The OEM amplifier put a load on it, so no, replicating what the OEM amp was doing will not mess with sound quality. Most of the harnesses come with the load resistors in the box, but if yours doesn't, you can source them online. Connect them like the photo i attached.
load resistors.png

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:14 pm
by James Cole
Thanks Dara, but the attachment does not show.

As for the resistor does it already come with the new harnesses that you supply with the DSR1 module?

Im looking for a plug and play solution.

Thanks!
JC