DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

8-Channel Interactive Signal Processor w/ Integrated iDatalink Maestro Module
Post Reply
Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:27 pm

Dear all,

i got some issues with my DSR1 and don‘t know if it‘s really issues or normal.
First i did all updates to the device as advised.
Then i configured the device for a 2016 Mustang. After a powercycle the device defaults to universal mode, which seems to be normal as i read in another thread over here.
But the device is always defaulting to AUX input and although it‘s configured for front and rear input it only plays the front channels this way. When switching to main input it only plays the rear channels which renders navigation and chimes and stuff useless.

Shouldn‘t all input channels be mixed to the front output when using a front fullrange + sub output?

Other than that it works good except that for lower gains on the amp you need to use standalone mode instead of maestro mode.

DSR1 is connected with HRN-AR-FO3 harness.
RF firmware 1.8.1 as recommended by RF after having some other issues with 1.9.3.
Flashed with the appropriate firmware from idatalink webflasher.

Best regards,

Peter

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5816
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:42 am

It definitely should be taking all 4 channels into account. The app is made and maintained by Rockford Fosgate, so I would recommend reaching out to them to see if they have a suggestion on how to get that setting to work correctly.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:25 am

Have also contacted RF support.
They told me to downgrade to 1.8.1.0 after I had flashed to 1.9.3.0 initially.

If they cannot fix it i might have to go the ForScan route and use a T-harness right behind the radio to get things running.

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:42 am

A bit more information.
When showing device information after flashing the RF firmware, the bluetooth firmware and the Ford Mustang firmware the device information tells me the following:

DSR1

Manufacturer Name: Rockford Fosgate
Model Number: DSR1
Serial Number. <serial number of device>
Hardware Version: 3.1.8
Firmware Version 1.8.1
Bootloader Version 1.0.0

MAESTRO
Serial Number <serial number of device>
Firmware Name ADS-AR-DC-UNI-256
Hardware Version 1.31.0
Firmware Version 1.0.0
Bootloader Version 1.0.0

and this is after flashing all three parts several times without any errors.
During flash of the Maestro Ford Mustang firmware it says flash successful and has the FO3 in the firmware name together with a version number 1.2.
But somehow this is not sticking to the device.

Best regards,

Peter

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:17 pm

When connecting the DSR1 via Maestro harness to the car i shouldn't get any DTCs related to missing DSP/amplifier, is that correct?
I ask, because i checked with ForScan and sure enough i have some DTCs set regarding the stock amp in the ACM. For now i have rerouted all chimes through the IPC speaker, but this cannot be the solution imho.

Best regards,

Peter

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5816
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:36 pm

Correct; Our firmware should send a code emulating the OEM amp's presence to avoid that.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:13 am

Have tried flashing with a Ford Fusion Firmware, but flashing process stalled at 99% and never finished. After reset of the module no firmware was in. Then flashed universal firmware v1.4 which succeeded. After that flashed Mustang Firmware for HRN-AR-FO3 and succeeded according to internet explorer.
After a powercycle device only showed the universal firmware v1.4 again in the app.

Now I've ripped it out, put in the stock amp again and connected the RCA cable to a T-Harness that i made from a CARAV 12-240 harness. Now it's like it should've been with the DSR1.

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:02 am

Ok, checked the harnesses from the DSR1 and the vehicle specific harness.
It looks like maybe the wiring is messed up on the HRN-AR-FO3?

When i check the universal harness it's pin out is exactly as described in the DSR1 manual, i.e. 1/10 is SPDIF, 2/11 is right rear, 3/12 is and so on.

On the HRN-AR-FO3 the pinout on the same connector is as follows:

1/10 is empty
2/11 is some blue/blue-black wire with unconnected blue connector
3/12 is empty.
4/13 is right front (and on universal harness it's right Aux).
...

This might explain why it's defaulting to AUX-input and i'm not able to use the fader on the radio either when using AUX or Main input in the RF app.

Can anyone confirm how the Maestro input connector on the HRN-AR-FO3 should be pinned and where the inputs front/rear should be on the input connector on this specific harness?

Best regards,

Peter

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:56 pm

Have just seen that there is a new Maestro firmware version out since friday 12th April.
Unfortunately i cannot find any release notes for the Maestro firmwares.
Might this firmware be related to the problem i've seen?

Best regards,

Peter

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5816
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:05 am

Yes, it should fix your issue. I assumed you may not want to know about it at this point since you have removed our product from your vehicle, so I didn't post an update here.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:34 am

Well, i can always put it back in, right? ;)
Will test it and give at least some form of feedback if the problem still persists, even if i still wont use it anymore. Guess that's the least thing i can do after getting help from you and make sure that the buyer will have a good device if selling it to someone else.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5816
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:54 am

Most people wouldn't be up for testing after removing the product, so that's very much appreciated!
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Cathul
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:55 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSR1 and 2016 Ford Mustang

Post by Cathul » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:26 am

Dear Dara,

here's my feedback.
When uploading the firmware for harness HRN-AR-FO3 it now sticks through powercycles and is correctly shown in the device information in the connection menu.
When configuring the device for the Maestro harness it's also sticking through powercycles now and i no longer have the choice between Main and AUX input.
I haven't tested fading/balance from the headunit, as this would mean to rip it all out at the moment which i have no time for, but from what i could see it looks like the problem is solved.

Best regards,

Peter

Post Reply

Return to “Maestro DSR1”