2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

8-Channel Interactive Signal Processor w/ Integrated iDatalink Maestro Module
henkew
New User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 10:45 am

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by henkew » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:22 am

Hi Dara, is your update just for the 9 and 19 speaker Rams? Or will this update also help out the stock 6 speaker system (currently running in universal mode)?

Thanks!

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5948
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:49 am

Our firmwares only support amplified vehicles. Any non-amplified vehicle running in standalone mode is not affected by our updates.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

James Cole
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:14 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by James Cole » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:40 pm

Dara will the Harman Kardon system output 4 channels or only 2 channels?

And how will the chimes and nav directions be handled ?

So if I understand correctly the DSR1 receives a completely flat unprocessed signal correct? and will output the same...

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5948
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:09 pm

It takes the same signal the OEM deck sent to the OEM amp. It should be flat, unless you tune the bass/mid/treble on the deck to alter the output.

See this link for information/manuals on the DSR1. http://rftech.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1324

The nav and chimes are done like the oem amp did them. If you choose to keep your center channel, nav will come out of that. Chimes will come out of whatever speaker they came from originally (door chime from the fronts, rear/parking assist chimes from the rear speakers).
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Bacovish
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:35 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Bacovish » Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:47 pm

Ol guys. I have a 2019 ram with the 12” HK system and I’m fixing to install the dsr1. So I’m going to run down what I have going on so please chime in if something doesn’t sound right or if you have any tips.

I’m going to run the dsr1 in maestro mode and sending only the front left and right signal to my DSP. I’ll be using the dsr1 only to flatten the signal. No processing.
Am I correct with this configuration?

Is there anything when flashing and going through the menu to program the dsr1 I need to be aware of in this configuration?

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by JustinFerroni » Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:53 am

You just need the DSR1 and CH4 otherwise you are all set
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

Bacovish
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:35 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Bacovish » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:27 pm

So when I get the maestro I need to flash Bluetooth. Then I go to Rockford and flash. Then I go back to maestro and flash the specific vehicle info??

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by JustinFerroni » Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:52 am

Correct, update the BT module first then the rockford firmware and finally ADS firmware
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

Bacovish
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:35 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Bacovish » Thu Nov 22, 2018 7:53 am

Update: last weekend it took 3 of us 60 hours but we did a complete stereo system install. I can’t say how happy I was when the maestro worked and works flawlessly. With the advice from another installer we ended up soldering the resistors in place instead of the clips due to some possible feedback or noise I have yet been able to hear any kind of noise in my system at all. Complete dead silence.

Side note: I opted to use it in maestro mode and added our own dsp instead of the dsr1. As it turns out this has proved to be a huge asset and tool. I am using the external dsp for fine tuning each channel and then using the ds1 for linking the channels together for a master EQ which helps keep everything in phase. This was an afterthought but hads given me a huge adavantage.

Bacovish
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:35 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Bacovish » Thu Nov 22, 2018 7:56 am

Just wanted to say thanks to Justin and the techs at meastro since I’ve called a few times with many questions and thanks for keeping up with these threads. You guys and gals have been great with your customer services.

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

James Cole
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:14 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by James Cole » Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:56 pm

Hello guys... so doing DSR1 in the 2019 ram requires using resistors and stuff?

I thought it was a simple replace oem amp solution and get a clean signal from there to your DSPs and Amps.

Thanks
JC

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5948
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:01 pm

Any Chrysler/Ram vehicle 2017+ that has a radio equipped with carplay/android auto requires the load resistors, or the OEM radio will not play any sound.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

James Cole
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:14 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by James Cole » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:08 pm

Where can I find instructions on the resistor install?

Also wont adding resistors fudge with the SQ?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5948
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:30 pm

The OEM amplifier put a load on it, so no, replicating what the OEM amp was doing will not mess with sound quality. Most of the harnesses come with the load resistors in the box, but if yours doesn't, you can source them online. Connect them like the photo i attached.
load resistors.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

James Cole
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:14 pm

Re: 2019 Ram 1500 - DSR1

Post by James Cole » Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:14 pm

Thanks Dara, but the attachment does not show.

As for the resistor does it already come with the new harnesses that you supply with the DSR1 module?

Im looking for a plug and play solution.

Thanks!
JC

Post Reply

Return to “Maestro DSR1”