No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

ekanson
New User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:27 am

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by ekanson » Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:52 pm

DustMagnet wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:07 pm
Success.

I flashed the test firmware to the Maestro RR unit and now I can see tire temperature and pressure, and door open states. I can also access the TPMS settings under the OEM Setup menu in the HU.

I have not set the tire locations yet, but I will do so later when I haul my compressor up.
.....
Drive around a block or 2 and the pressures will be read by the system.

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:15 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:25 pm
The parking brake status is coming from the OBD2 port, which is not reporting until the ignition is on. We cannot generate parking brake output until we have the status data. If you want to get around this, you'd have to either bypass the parking brake or manually hook to the parking brake itself.
That makes technical sense, even it doesn't seem like the logical use case. :) If watching video becomes a more desired activity I will change the parking brake connection from the Maestro to one of the other options at that time.

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:36 pm

ekanson wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:52 pm
DustMagnet wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:07 pm
Success.

I flashed the test firmware to the Maestro RR unit and now I can see tire temperature and pressure, and door open states. I can also access the TPMS settings under the OEM Setup menu in the HU.

I have not set the tire locations yet, but I will do so later when I haul my compressor up.
.....
Drive around a block or 2 and the pressures will be read by the system.
I can see the pressures already, but I did go out and I still see pressures. :)

The tire location setting process requires me to deflate and inflate the tires one a time so I need to bring my air compressor up from out back of the house. Well, maybe if I connect three air hoses together I don't... :D

ekanson
New User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:27 am

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by ekanson » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:29 am

DustMagnet wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:36 pm
ekanson wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:52 pm
DustMagnet wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:07 pm
Success.
...

The tire location setting process requires me to deflate and inflate the tires one a time so I need to bring my air compressor up from out back of the house. Well, maybe if I connect three air hoses together I don't... :D
Oh I see. I thought the car IDs the location automatically and that is what is transmitted to the module.
I tried the deflate/inflate method but after deflating FL tire (barely any air left), there was no prompt to put air back in or anything. Anyway, let's know how it goes and I might give it another try.
Thx

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Wed Jul 24, 2019 12:38 pm

Something I am noticing since the flash of the test firmware is a power-on delay that seems both unusually long and variable.

Previously when I turned the key on the HU boot screen would show up almost immediately. Now the delay from key on to boot screen appearing seems to take 10-30 seconds but on the rare occasion is fast like before.

I thought this was something happening in the HU, but later after I connected a wireless camera receiver with a power LED to the HO1 red power wire (where it's connected to the Kenwood harness) I noticed the boot delay is reflected in the delay for the LED to power up as well.

Did changes in the test firmware affect the power output timing, or does this have nothing to do with the Maestro (e.g. the power is directly from the OEM harness)?

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Wed Jul 24, 2019 5:06 pm

ekanson wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:29 am
DustMagnet wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:36 pm
ekanson wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:52 pm


Oh I see. I thought the car IDs the location automatically and that is what is transmitted to the module.
I tried the deflate/inflate method but after deflating FL tire (barely any air left), there was no prompt to put air back in or anything. Anyway, let's know how it goes and I might give it another try.
Thx
Ok, tire location learning complete.

No, the HU doesn't tell you to put air back in, it just tells you to move on to the next tire, then after the third tire it just stops.

Now I don't know if the HU says "training complete" or something since I wasn't in the car looking at the display. I would just let some air out of a tire until it was obviously sagging then pop my head in the car and look at the HU and it would be saying to deflate the next tire. When I finished letting air out of the right rear tire (last in the LF-LR-RR sequence) I looked at the HU and it was just displaying the Vehicle Info screen showing three tires with low pressure.

I then re-inflated the three tires and drove the car around the block until all the displayed pressures were back in range.

What's odd is that the pressure dropped far enough to trigger the car's low pressure lamp (exclamation in a tire cross-section) but I didn't get any alerts on the HU, even though TPMS Alerts are set on. However, since I can set a temperature threshold but NOT a pressure threshold maybe it only alerts on high temp, and not low pressure (although that seems half-baked - no pun intended). Oh well, with the combination of the car's idiot light and the Maestro/HU's pressure display one could figure out what's going on... :wink:

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:17 pm

DustMagnet wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 12:38 pm
Something I am noticing since the flash of the test firmware is a power-on delay that seems both unusually long and variable.

Previously when I turned the key on the HU boot screen would show up almost immediately. Now the delay from key on to boot screen appearing seems to take 10-30 seconds but on the rare occasion is fast like before.

I thought this was something happening in the HU, but later after I connected a wireless camera receiver with a power LED to the HO1 red power wire (where it's connected to the Kenwood harness) I noticed the boot delay is reflected in the delay for the LED to power up as well.

Did changes in the test firmware affect the power output timing, or does this have nothing to do with the Maestro (e.g. the power is directly from the OEM harness)?
Question: If I enabled features during programming that I do not have (e.g. Radar Detector, Satellite Radio Tuner, Factory Amp) would that delay the boot process if they are not present?

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 439
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by JustinFerroni » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:54 am

No, the maestro will not impact the radios boot up time. Boot up time are dependant on the unit and vary by brand.
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:19 am

JustinFerroni wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:54 am
No, the maestro will not impact the radios boot up time. Boot up time are dependant on the unit and vary by brand.
Ok, so the ignition power (red wire) on the HO1 harness is a direct pass-through from the OEM radio harness then and the RR unit does not control that line?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6347
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:23 am

It's a simple relay that is triggered by the radio turning on. Nothing fancy is going on there.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:27 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:23 am
It's a simple relay that is triggered by the radio turning on. Nothing fancy is going on there.
After the official firmware update release I will try shortening the bus to figure out the source of the delay.

Meanwhile, would it be safe to power a 150mA wireless camera receiver from the reverse trigger connection, or must I (because I probably should) use it to trigger a relay that switches power to the wireless receiver?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6347
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:32 pm

It is a low-current transistor that is just intended to change the radio screen when you go into reverse. Do not attempt to power anything from our purple/white. You will damage the reverse output transistor.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:42 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:32 pm
Do not attempt to power anything from our purple/white. You will damage the reverse output transistor.
Got it. If I want to switch a relay on reverse I'll tap in under the dash and steer clear of the Maestro. :wink:

DustMagnet
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by DustMagnet » Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:19 am

Dara DeGrand wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:23 am
It's a simple relay that is triggered by the radio turning on. Nothing fancy is going on there.
How does the "Accessory During Crank" feature work? (Not what it does, but how it does it.)

This sounds suspiciously like the Maestro RR does have programmatic control over accessory power to the radio and that these random delays I have been seeing on radio power-up (not boot-up) since flashing the test firmware to resolve the TPMS reading issue could very well be in the domain of the Maestro...

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6347
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No tire pressure display on 2007 CR-V

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:00 pm

The heavy gauge red output of the relay stays latched during crank if 'accessory during crank is ON'. However, if the battery voltage during crank dips too low, our relay may stay latched, but the radio still can't stay on because the battery voltage is below the minimum threshold to keep it powered.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “HO1 radio replacement solution”