HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post Reply
JMan
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:33 pm

HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by JMan » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:04 pm

2013 Ford F150
Idatalink K150 & Maestro RR with Pioneer 4200 NEX

The k150 air conditioning controls stop working. I keep getting a message on pioneer radio saying " Climate controls not detected" Once I reset the module everything starts to work again. But this is a daily issue. Once the truck is turned off, the issue returns again when its turned back on. And i have to reset the module again. :evil: I've flashed the module multiple times and nothing has seemed to fix the issue. Is there anything that can fix the miscommunication between the radio/module and the K150 kit. Any help would be appreciated..

PeteB
12Volt Specialist
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:19 am

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by PeteB » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:34 pm

We are aware of this issue. Although the affected number of vehicles is very small but we take this seriously and are actively looking into a correction for this. In talking with our engineers they would like you to try a firmware that is available in the "Flash By User Firmware" tab when flashing a MRR. There should be only one there to select. Please try that and let me know if that is working any better for you .
Peter Bennett

JMan
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:33 pm

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by JMan » Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:29 pm

I appreciate the response. Unfortunately, I re-flashed the module using the provided information "Flash By User Firmware" and the K150 continues to do the same thing. Everything is functional for a bit, and then the message on the pioneer is displayed " Climate Control Undetected".Once the message is displayed I lose all control of the climate controls. And have to wait for the module to set reset. I was able before to by-pass the "error screen" with the sync button. But I removed the sync opinion hoping that might be the issue. But the problem continues. Can it be the HVAC cables? or any other cables from/to the module that can be faulty? I would appreciate any other troubleshooting help with this. I have been unable to enjoy the k150 due to this continual issue since I bought it.

PeteB
12Volt Specialist
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:19 am

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by PeteB » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:06 pm

JMan,
The only other suggestion that i can make at this time is to perform a Maestro Module Reset from the menu of the radio. That may help reset it to get working again, but not long term solution. I understand the frustration that this may cause, we are actively lookin into the issue. Please try the reset and let me know if the systems persist, get worse or better.
Peter Bennett

Wonderboyrox
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:17 am

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by Wonderboyrox » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:23 am

Hello there. I am having a similar issue. I have a 2014 Mustang Base model without Sync, and I am using a Maestro RR with a Kenwood DDX573BH, and over the past 6 months I have lost my climate controls entirely. Resetting the Kenwood Stereo doesn't seem to do anything, so I have had to disconnect and reconnect the battery. While disconnecting the battery seems to work, it's extremely frustrating to be forced to do this in 30 degree weather and then end up being late to work as a result.

I don't know if a fix for this problem has been found or not, but this has happened as recently as this week for me.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:52 am

The mustang and F150 kits work quite a bit differently. In the mustang, if you are having problems, i recommend resetting the RR, NOT the radio.

You should be able to do this through your radio menus; Hit Menu > Setup > AV > OEM Setup > Maestro Module > Master Reset
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

MrSub
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by MrSub » Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:47 pm

I have the K150, MRR and a DDX9903s and have the climate kit not detected randomly. If I wait about 3min it will come back and work. From what I see is all the lights on the HVAC controls go out then will come back on. I don't know if it is the Maestro or the K150.
idatalink Maestro RR
Kit-K150
Kenwood DDX9903s

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by Dara DeGrand » Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:50 pm

I recommend doing a little bit of re-wiring on the dash kit. I would snip the red and black power wires that plug into the dash kit (leave the blue connected), and move their power to the heavy gauge yellow and black on the RR. Red from the kit will go to yellow on the RR, and black to black. Tape the vehicle side of the red and black wires off, so that they don't touch anything and short out.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

mgp777
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:18 am

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by mgp777 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:30 am

2014 F-150 , Maestro and K-150, Pioneer AVIC-8200NEX.

I'd like to know if the re-wiring was attempted and successful, I had a "Climate Controls not Detected" msg tonight. However, i noticed the fan control still worked.

With the msg displayed there was no way to clear it. I had to turn off the truck and re-start. It did come back up without the msg.

MrSub
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by MrSub » Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:50 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:I recommend doing a little bit of re-wiring on the dash kit. I would snip the red and black power wires that plug into the dash kit (leave the blue connected), and move their power to the heavy gauge yellow and black on the RR. Red from the kit will go to yellow on the RR, and black to black. Tape the vehicle side of the red and black wires off, so that they don't touch anything and short out.

I have not tore the dash apart yet but am wondering these wires are. I am looking at the install guide and do not see them, are they wrapped in a black plastic protector?
idatalink Maestro RR
Kit-K150
Kenwood DDX9903s

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: HELP!!! K150 & RR

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:55 pm

There is a little bit of shielding covering them, but it should be pretty obvious. There are only two connectors that plug into the dash kit, and only one small, white, 3-pin connector that plugs into the back of the dash kit. The other cable that plugs into the dash kit has a red connector and has 4 pins.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “FO2 radio replacement solution”