No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post Reply
JunbugNaked
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:02 pm

No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by JunbugNaked »

2007 Dodge Magnum R/T, 6 Speaker System, OEM Amp & Uconnect. Let me start by saying that the radio plays & sounds great (Alpine INE-957HD). It seems to be the functions that need to integrate with the OEM functions thru Maestro that are the problem. The OBD2 reads disconnected even though when I open a door, it shows that on the screen. Above the mileage in center gauge it now reads (AM 000), not sure if this is normal or not.

The Nav works, but there's no sound. Also, there's no sound in phone mode (using Uconnect or without).

This my second attempt to get some help here. My first posting....who knows what happened to it (4 days ago). Also, I had to, for some strange reason, register all over again because (suddenly) I could no longer log in. Please help someone?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6415
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by Dara DeGrand »

So sorry about that. We had to restore our forum over the weekend and some of the posts got lost. I replied, but you might not have seen it.

See the documents I attached. One of them is for the OBD, and one of them is for the audio wiring. As for the evic display, we are aware of the issue and are working on a fix for it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

JunbugNaked
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by JunbugNaked »

Thank you so much for the help Dara. I'll try them both as soon as I get a chance. I wanted to inquire about a few other things while I'll be removing the Maestro & T-harness. 1) Will reconfiguring the speaker wires change the way the music now plays because it sounds really great now? 2) Once the speaker wires are switched, I'll be selecting Uconnect as the phones (handsfree) and Alpine for Bluetooth audio streaming...correct? 3) I'm assuming that I can, now, disconnect the Alpine mic....not needed? 4) I noticed when I was programming the maestro that there were two firmwares. I loaded the one I was instructed to load (ADS-RR(SR)-CHR02-DS) Guide: 14372 2014-03-25. I noticed that the other firmware was dated in Dec of this year, so I just wanted to make sure that I have the latest or correct firmware loaded since I have to pull everything back out anyway? Thanks again for your help thus far and I'll let you know how it turns out as soon as I get a chance to try both the fixes. Hopefully I'll receive your answers to the above questions before I have the Maestro all reinstalled, buttoned up and tucked away. Lol

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6415
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by Dara DeGrand »

1)No. If you look at how the speaker wires are set up in the vehicle, there are only 2 channels of input to the factory amp. The way you have it wired now, you're feeding the radio's rear outputs to the factory amp. In this radio, the navigation outputs and phone call audio only play on the front channels. The audio should sound the same, but you'll have the audio you're missing.

2)That's up to you. You can use either bluetooth system for phone calls and audio streaming, so use whatever system you like the best.

3)If you continue to use the alpine system for handsfree calling, you must use the Alpine microphone. If you're not sure, I recommend leaving it installed so you don't have to put it back in if you decide to switch back to the Alpine.

4) We did recently update this firmware, so you can re-flash if you like. If you're not having any problems with functionality (other than what you've already mentioned), there is no need to do re-flash.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

JunbugNaked
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by JunbugNaked »

UPDATE: Switched the wires around on the can. I couldn't find a freakin pin to use (as illustrated) so I had to use my pointy razor sharp hook bill knife....(not too much blood spilled). OBD2 now working....YA! Next I switched up the speaker wiring of the T-harness & radio. I didn't know what to do with the extra wires so I just capped them off. Navigation now speaks....YA! Handsfree now works in phone mode, people can hear me and I them....YA! But sadly, no trifecta because my uconnect is "still" D.O.A. and I had to surrender and just use the radio mic. Music still sounds good though without the extra speaker wires. Also, I discovered (too late) that I didn't need to pry up the dash to install the radios gps antenna. I know this now because I plugged my roof mounted (OEM) gps antenna into the Alpine and....EURECKA, It worked! I didn't know you could do that.

So,if someone knows if the latest firmware update for my vehicle (in Dec 2014) addresses the Uconnect system, please let me know if I need to re-flash my Maestro unit. Also on a sidenote, Alpine seems to have gotten a little sneaky and have figured out how to eliminate the use of the TR-7 video bypass. On the INE-957HD, in order to enter into the settings for the radio you have to hold the foot brake, set the parking break and then release the foot brake leaving the parking brake engaged....so sneaky. This won't work with the TR-7 hooked up so you have to unplugged the TR-7 everytime you want to adjust your settings on the radio. I'm trying to figure out if I put a toggle switch on the 12V for the TR-7 relay, could I get settings to work by simply switching the toggle off and switching it back on when I'm done so I don't have remove the center console to unplug everytime. I haven't physically tried it yet, only tested in my head so far. ANY HELPFUL suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much Dara for your very knowledgeable assistance. My appreciation for you is far more than you could ever know. Please inform me if you find out anything about that latest firmware update.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6415
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by Dara DeGrand »

Glad you got most of it working! Chances are, we didn't detect a uconnect module, which is why it isn't working. We've seen that in a handful of CH2 cars, and we're looking into a solution for it.

If your TR-7 is hooked up properly, it should generate that sequence you just described, and then you would never have to manually do the sequence.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

JunbugNaked
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by JunbugNaked »

(TR-7 Relay) I've checked the wiring over and over again. I even watched a video on YouTube showing how to wire the TR-7 to a Alpine radio to make sure everything was correct. The video on the Alpine 957 won't work unless the E-brake is engaged. Even if you're in park and not driving the video won't show unless you apply the E-brake. The only way I was able to get it to kind of work was to unplug the TR-7, apply the E-brake, start the dvd, plug the TR-7 back in, release the E-brake and then I could drive and video stayed on so....I don't know. The TR-7 came already programmed so maybe it's programmed wrong or something. I can't really find too many install reviews on this particular model radio to see if others are having any of the same issues. Other than that, I'm pretty happy with the way things turned out. Thank you Dara and all others that assisted.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6415
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by Dara DeGrand »

Yeah, the TR-7 is definitely wrong. It's basically two relays in one, so you shouldn't have to do anything to make it engage the bypass other than turn on the ignition (if that's how it's configured).
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

benstix
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:51 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by benstix »

Hi,

I wanted to thank all involved on this thread Cuz this has been bugging the +&$#--'%# out of me! The no guages and what not. So I well try those fixes and see how they go. Quick question tho. I have a 2005 300c lx premium and my idatalink/ch02 t harness came with a connector I don't see on any instructions. It's the blue colored one that has a 3.5mm jack and a random greenish blueish wire sticking out of it. I have a Kenwood dnx691hd. Just wondering what the point of the connector is. Thx

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6415
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by Dara DeGrand »

Hello,
That connector is for analog steering wheel controls. It is not used in your application.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

JSCorr
12Volt Specialist
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:39 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by JSCorr »

You can bypass the video on the nex units down to the 5000 with out the tr-7. If you shut the radio off and hold your finger bottom left up roughly an inch and to the right about the same until you see set:off or set:on I do not remember exactly it bypasses ebrake control until you repeat the process.
Jay Corr
Installation Manager
Classic Designs
220 South Main St.
West Bridgewater, MA 02379
1.508.559.2184

JunbugNaked
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by JunbugNaked »

Greetings to all my fellow mopar brothers....and you too Dara. I just wanted to let anyone concerned know that I, did, finally get my video bypass to work. Apparently somebody (me) forgot to disconnect the two brake wires after wiring up the TR-7. A honest mistake with all I had going on....lol. So for anyone else having problems with there TR-7 install, don't forget to (NOT) connect the e-brake & foot brake to the OEM wiring harness. Hope this helps someone....actually I'm hoping that I'm not the only idiot to make this mistake :-).

Later people...Hemi power for LIFE!!!

JunbugNaked
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by JunbugNaked »

Greetings All!

Everything is still going well with my 07 Magnum RT. I just wanted to check-in and see if you guys had solved the problem with the (AM 000) that appears on the dash after installing the Maestro Unit. I know before that Dara had said that you guys were aware of this and looking into it. I've patiently waited to give sufficient time to explore this problem and now I'm back to see if you've discovered a solution or it's just something that I have to live with.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 6415
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: No OBD2, No Sound (phone), No sound (Nav)

Post by Dara DeGrand »

http://www.12voltdata.com/forum/viewtop ... 7&start=30

We have updated the firmware to alter how the sources display in the EVIC, but we're limited to what we can show there. See this thread for more info.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “CH2 radio replacement solution”