Gauge not displaying information

Group using the CH1, CH2 and CH3 firmwares for uConnect, steering wheel controls, OEM amplifier retention. compatible with select Mitsubishi and Volkswagen vehicles * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

I have a 2020 Durango SXT, I installed an Alpine lix407 using the dur1 kit with an RR. Everything else works fine but the ODB say disconnected, or error 1, or not not responding it changes every time I reset the module. So any ideas? Also should I be able to control my rear climate control from the head unit? I just figured out I can not turn the AC off from the head unit display.

Chris LaRoche
Moderator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Chris LaRoche »

How are the red/brown and yellow/brown wires connected to the vehicle? Climate controls should work fine, so you may want to verify the radio's firmware is up to date there. The AC should be controlled via the radio and rear climate would work still, as well. Can you provide a couple pictures (or a short video) of what you're seeing on the climate pages in the radio after verifying it's up to date on Alpine's firmware?

Thanks!
Chris LaRoche
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support - Maestro
MECP Master Installer

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

The wires are hard wired through the harness I found a post that said it might be pinned backwards so I'm gonna start there. I'll check the firmware first chance I get. When I flashed the module I unchecked all of the rear seat infotainment options, could that be the reason the rear climate controls don't work.
Last edited by Frome2021 on Tue Nov 16, 2021 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

phpBB [video]
gauges
phpBB [video]
AC


Here the videos, I'm not sure if i did it right.

Chris LaRoche
Moderator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Chris LaRoche »

How are the red/brown and yellow/brown wires connected to the vehicle? OBD2, can junction, etc?
Chris LaRoche
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support - Maestro
MECP Master Installer

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

They are tied into the harness from the vehicle to the idata and then the head unit if thatakes sense.

Chris LaRoche
Moderator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Chris LaRoche »

No, it doesn't. Take a look at step 4 in the install guide. Where are those connections made at?
Chris LaRoche
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support - Maestro
MECP Master Installer

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

Sound like it might be wired wrong. I'll take a look. I'm having trouble understanding where the can junction connector is, under the dash by the OBD2 port?
Last edited by Frome2021 on Fri Nov 19, 2021 6:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Chris LaRoche
Moderator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Chris LaRoche »

Not by the OBD2, no. It is under/in the driver's side dash however.
Chris LaRoche
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support - Maestro
MECP Master Installer

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

I may have found it, but it's behind the lower air bag. I'm gonna do some more looking because I'm not messing with that.

Chris LaRoche
Moderator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Chris LaRoche »

Definitely possible there. It'd be a green box, white plugs. You should be plugged into that already. I'm guessing this isn't the case?
Chris LaRoche
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support - Maestro
MECP Master Installer

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

No I think I plugged that connection from the vehicle harness in to the back of the head unit or something. I'll try to take some pictures cause you would think it wouldn't work at all if I hooked something up wrong.
So its confirmed I found where it plugs in but I don't get how, which slots? Maybe there's a better picture?
Last edited by Frome2021 on Sat Nov 20, 2021 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chris LaRoche
Moderator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Chris LaRoche »

Pick one, unplug it. Then plug our female into that wiring harness. Then our male goes into the block, where that factory harness was unplugged from. The white plugs don't fit the radio harness, so I have no idea where those are currently plugged in.
Chris LaRoche
Automotive Data Solutions
Technical Support - Maestro
MECP Master Installer

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

So it doesn't matter which plug on the can junction connector I use?

Frome2021
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:59 pm

Re: Gauge not displaying information

Post by Frome2021 »

https://photos.app.goo.gl/5AGq2zBpoztTkJCp9 looks like the plug is currently wired to the vehicle harness. The to the maestro.
Last edited by Frome2021 on Tue Nov 23, 2021 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep”