Page 1 of 1

Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:23 am
by Civic_Power
Here is a neat little plug-in that will allow you to flash an iDatalink module using Mozilla Firefox

while using Mozilla Firefox, Download and install the plug-in from https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/1419

from http://www.idatalink.com click on flash your module (with your module plugged in obviously)

when you get the message that tells you that your "browser/OS is not compatible with the weblink plug-in" simply click on the Mozilla icon in the bottom right corner of your browser to switch to an emulated version of internet explorer

"Woalla" now simply continue flashing your module the way you normally would.

Re: Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:00 pm
by thechadj
Very Nice tutorial.
Great find.
thanks.
anything to avoid using microsoft stuff!!
regards
cHAd

Re: Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:22 pm
by srtbull
I found you can do the same thing with Chrome.
Death to Ie. I'm all over this bizniz

Re: Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:43 am
by Murph
Using an IE tab on Chrome is still using an IE tab. it will work most of the time.

Re: Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 9:58 pm
by Ace_boy2786
That add-on link appears to be dead, do you still have that add-on you can get a name for, or is there a new way to go about using Firefox with idata and the Weblink now that it's 2020 and this topic was started back in 2009? It's hard to believe that here in 2020 the program doesn't like Firefox, while most people using browsers on Windows machines don't like IE....

Re: Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2021 9:52 am
by dave_bethel
Is it still possible for me to find a way to use Mozilla Firefox to flash a module?

Re: Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2021 10:03 am
by Murph
dave_bethel wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 9:52 am
Is it still possible for me to find a way to use Mozilla Firefox to flash a module?
No, you need to use Internet Explorer or the new Weblink Desktop. The Desktop add does not require a browser.
https://www.idatalink.com/support#tab=_weblink-plugin

Re: Flashing a module using Mozilla firefox

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2021 10:46 am
by dave_bethel
Thanks Brian.

I am using a Mac mini

When I click on download I receive a 404 error.

I will try again later as I understand that someone on your team is looking into this.